EARLI is governed by an international Executive Committee (EC), responsible for setting out the broader strategies and policies of the association.
The day-to-day management of the EARLI activities is carried out by the EARLI Office, located in Leuven (Belgium).

Call for Elections

Every two years, members of the Executive Committee (EC) are elected by the EARLI membership. FULL, JURE and Longstanding members of EARLI can cast their vote for a President-Elect, Secretary-Treasurer, as well as four ordinary members. The President of EARLI for the period from 2019 (September) until 2021 (August) will be Professor Debra Myhill.

Find out more about the EARLI Executive Committee Portfolio's here.

If you are interested in applying for an EC position, please supply the following to EARLI Office (

  • a short description of yourself (max. 200 words)
  • a motivation statement (max. 200 words)
  • a photograph 
  • a video statement (max. 1 minute)

Please incorporate the key elements of your candidacy in the video statement.
Applications are welcomed until the 19th of April 2019, midnight CEST.


Executive Committee

Sanna Järvelä
Prof. Sanna Järvelä
EARLI President
General Strategy and International Relations

Prof. Debra Myhill
EARLI President-Elect
Portfolio Holder for SIGs and EFGs

Eleni Kyza
Prof. Eleni Kyza
Secretary - Treasurer
Portfolio Holder for Finance, IT, HR,
Legal and Facilities

AliLeijenProf. Äli Leijen
Ordinary Member
Portfolio holder for Publications

CeciliaLundholmProf. Cecilia Lundholm
Ordinary Member
Portfolio Holder for EARLI Activities and Awards

Prof. Daniel Muijs
Ordinary Member
Portfolio Holder for Communications

Prof. Piet Van den Bossche
Ordinary Member
Portfolio Holder for JURE

Patrick Belpaire
Managing Director

Prof. Marold Wosnitza
EARLI 2019 Conference President




Prof. Hans Gruber

Educational Research Review

Mien Seghers

Prof. Mien Segers

New Perspectives on Learning and Instruction

Edurev EIF

Prof. Lars-Erik Malmberg

Learning & Instruction


Prof. Thomas Martens

Frontline Learning Research

EARLI Office

Patrick Belpaire

Patrick Belpaire

Managing Director

Thomas Daniels

Thomas Daniëls
EARLI Project Manager

EARLI and JURE Conferences

Lisa Vanhaeren

Lisa Vanhaeren
EARLI Project Assistant

SIGs, EFGs and social media

Tonia Davison

Tonia Davison
EARLI Project Assistant

Membership, finances and website


Lore Verschakelen
EARLI Project Assistant

EARLI Journals, E-CIR and ASC

Inneke Berghmans

Inneke Berghmans
EAPRIL Project Manager

EAPRIL activities