SIG 15 - Special Educational Needs

Coordinators

Kati Sormunen

University of Helsinki, Finland

Jo van Herwegen

University College London, UK

Nadina Gómez Merino

University of Valencia, Spain

Erica Ranzato

University College London, UK

Mission statement

SIG 15 is an international scientific research interest group that brings together early career and established researchers and other stakeholders (e.g., practitioners, associations, charities), from across the globe, with an interest in the education and inclusion of individuals with special educational needs (SEN) of all ages. Through scientific discussions, collaboration, and exchanging research outcomes, SIG15 aims to further the understanding of those with SEN and to improve learning, instruction in a broad range of settings, and inclusion for individuals with SEN so that they may realize their full potential in society.

Guidance for the inclusion of students with Special Educational Needs for online learning

Members from SIG 15 (many of them early career researchers and JURE members) have put together guidance to support parents and professionals with regards to inclusion of students with Special Educational Needs during online learning.

Consult the document in English, FinnishGreek, SpanishSwedish or German.

Activities

SIG 15 Conference 2022

Theme
A Village to Teach a Child - The Influence of Contextual Factors on Learning and Development
Dates
22-23 September 2022
Place
Ghent, Belgium

SIG 15 Brown Bag Online Seminars

Theme
Ricardo Rosas, CEDEti-UC, Chile
Dates
Tuesday, 28 June at 1pm UK time, 2pm CEST, 3 pm EEST.
Place
Online meeting. Please sign up to our mailing list to receive the link to join the seminar