Joint SIG20 and SIG26 conference in Utrecht, Netherlands: 26th -28th of August, 2020

 EARLI SIG 20 & 26 Conference in Utrecht is cancelled

With a heavy heart, the coordinators of SIG 20 and SIG 26, together with the local organizers,  decided that the Joint SIG 20 & 26 conference which was to be held in August in Utrecht, the Netherlands, will be cancelled due to the Corona crisis.

The coordinators of SIG 20 and SIG 26, together with the local organizers,  are currently exploring whether the meeting could perhaps be postponed and/or held in a different format and will will inform the SIG 20 and 26 communities, accordingly. 


We are pleased to invite you to the Joint 2020 Conference of the EARLI Special Interest Groups 20 (“Inquiry Learning") and 26 (“Argumentation, Dialogue and Reasoning”). The theme of the conference is “Tools of Inquiry and Argumentation to Tell Facts from Fiction”. The conference will be held from Wednesday the 26th to Friday the 28th of August 2020 in Utrecht, Netherlands. 


Located in the eastern corner of the Randstad conurbation, and in the very centre of mainland Netherlands, Utrecht is the fourth-largest city and a municipality of the Netherlands. Utrecht is one of the oldest cities in the Netherlands and has been a religious center for centuries; it has a medieval old town, canals, Christian monuments and a venerable university. Its central position, rapid modernization and growth has transformed the city into an important transport and cultural hub.  Utrecht has nowadays the second highest number of cultural events in the Netherlands, after Amsterdam.

The joint SIG20-SIG26 conference will be hosted by the Utrecht University, one of the oldest and highly-ranked universities of the country. 

Important dates

  • January 13th, 2020
    Submission opens
  • March 31st, 2020
    Submission deadline
  • April 1st, 2020
    Registration opens
  • May 15th, 2020
    Notifications of acceptance
  • June 8th, 2020
    Early registration deadline
  • August 26th-28th, 2020
    SIG20-SIG26 conference

Click here to consult the submission guidelines. 


When preparing your submission for the conference, please consider the following information about each presentation format:

Paper presentations

Paper sessions consist of 3-4 paper presentations and last 90 minutes. Each presenter will be given 15 minutes presentation time, followed by 5 minutes for questions. At the end of all presentations, there is a ten-minute open discussion. It is important that empirical papers indicate clear data and results, or they will not be accepted. Theoretical papers, of course, are also welcomed. Research that is at an earlier stage is very suitable for poster sessions. Papers in each session will be thematically grouped. 


Symposia provide an opportunity to present research on one topic, often from multiple perspectives, compiling a coherent set of papers for discussion. Symposia sessions are directed by a chair, involving four presenters and one discussant.  A symposium is scheduled for 90 minutes, allowing 15 minutes presentation time per speaker, ten minutes for the discussant, and 20 minutes for open discussion.

Poster presentations

This format is perfect for developing research and/or preliminary results.There will be different time-slots for the poster presentations to allow each poster enough time and space to be seen. The poster sessions offer presenters the opportunity for interaction and discussion with the audience. The presenters of the posters are expected to be at their poster for the whole poster session to get in contact with their interested audience. 

ICT demos

ICT Demonstrations allow presenters to display, explain and familiarise users with a potentially useful teaching or research tool or method. The presentation may include references to completed research, but the point of the session is to demonstrate the tool, not present the research for criticism. The audience may offer their viewpoints and share their experiences with similar tools or different tools for the same purpose. ICT Demonstrations are scheduled  for 90 minutes.

JURE paper and poster presentations

The JURE paper and poster presentations won't be different in their format from the other paper and poster presentations. As such our JURE members can just follow the information provided above. Nevertheless, there will be senior members of the community dedicated to attend the JURE presentations and find some time to provide feedback to the JURE presenters.  

The SIG 20 scientific committee consists of:

  • Annelies Raes (KU Leuven, Belgium)
  • Ard Lazonder (University of Nijmegen, Netherlands)
  • Astrid Wichmann (Ruhr University Bochum, Germany)
  • Bram De Wever (Ghent University, Belgium)
  • Cindy Hmelo-Silver (Indiana University, USA)
  • Eleni Kyza (Cyprus University of Technology, Cyprus)
  • Ingo Kollar (University of Augsburg, Germany)
  • Janice Gobert (Rutgers University, USA)
  • Jim Slotta (Boston College, USA)
  • Koen Veermans (University of Turku, Finland)
  • Margus Pedaste (University of Tartu, Estonia)
  • Michiel Voet (Ghent University, Belgium)
  • Piia Näykki (University of Oulu, Finland)
  • Susan Yoon (University of Pennsylvania, USA)
  • Tomi Jaakkola (University of Turku, Finland)
  • Ton de Jong (University of Twente, Netherlands)
  • Wouter van Joolingen (University of Utrecht, Netherlands)
  • Yiannis Georgiou (Cyprus University of Technology, Cyprus)

The SIG 26 scientific committee consists of:

  • Alexander Gröschner (Friedrich-Schiller University of Jena, Germany)
  • Alina Reznitskaya (Montclair State University, USA)
  • Anne-Nelly Perret-Clermont (University of Neuchâtel, Switzerland)
  • Armin Weinberger (Saarland University, Germany)
  • Baruch Schwarz (Hebrew University of Jerusalem, Israel)
  • Carla van Boxtel (University of Amsterdam, The Netherlands)
  • Christa Asterhan (Hebrew University of Jerusalem, Israel)
  • Claire Polo (Université Lumière Lyon 2, France)
  • Clark Chinn (Rutgers University, USA)
  • Frank Fischer (Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München, Germany)
  • Freydis Vogel (University of Nottingham, Germany)
  • Johannes Bauer (University of Erfurt, Germany)
  • Ian Wilkinson (Ohio State University, USA)
  • Hugo Mercier (CNRS, France)
  • Maria Pilar Jimenez Aleixandre (University of Santiago de Compostela, Spain)
  • Michael Baker (CNRS, France)
  • Miika Marttunen (University of Jyväskylä, Finland)
  • Sara Hennessy (University of Cambridge, UK)
  • Sherice Clarke (University of California, USA)
  • Ingvill Rasmussen (University of Oslo, Norway)
  • Kris Lund (CNRS, France)
  • Rocío García-Carrión (University of Deusto, Spain) 
  • Rupert Wegerif (University of Cambridge, UK)


SIG 20 Organizing Committee (Inquiry Learning)

  • Ingo Kollar (SIG Coordinator)
  • Koen Veermans (Incoming SIG Coordinator)
  • Yiannis Georgiou (JURE Coordinator)
  • Bram De Wever (Outgoing SIG Coordinator)

SIG 26 Organizing Committee (Argumentation, Dialogue & Reasoning)

  • Armin Weinberger (SIG Coordinator)
  • Rupert Wegerif (Incoming SIG Coordinator)
  • Claire Polo (Incoming JURE Coordinator)
  • Baruch Schwarz (Outgoing SIG Coordinator)
  • Freydis Vogel (Outgoing JURE Coordinator)

Local Organizing Committee

  • Wouter van Joolingen (Chair)
  • Anne van der Linden
  • Michiel van Harskamp

The organizing committee can be reached through